Sunday, November 21, 2010

2010 Canadian Folk Music Award winners

The Canadian Folk Music Awards took place last night in Winnipeg. Click here for a full list of the nominees. Here are the winners (links are included for the albums that I've reviewed on the Folk Roots/Folk Branches blog.)

Traditional Album of the Year: The Once - The Once

Contemporary Album of the Year -- John Wort Hannam - Queen's Hotel

Children’s Album of the Year -- Andrew Queen - Too Tall

Traditional Singer of the Year -- Yves Lambert - Bal à l'Huile

Contemporary Singer of the Year -- Rose Cousins - The Send Off

Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year -- Wendell Ferguson - Ménage a Moi

Instrumental Group of the Year --Beyond the Pale - Postcards

Vocal Group of the Year -- Dala - Girls From The North County

Ensemble of the Year -- Le Vent Du Nord - La Part Du Feu

Solo Artist of the Year -- Amelia Curran - Hunter, Hunter

English Songwriter of the Year -- Ian Tamblyn - Gyre

French Songwriter of the Year -- Francis D'Octobre - Ma bête fragile

Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year -- Asani - Listen

World Artist of the Year – Solo -- Dominic Mancuso - Comfortably Mine

World Artist of the Year – Group -- Sokoun Trio - Zanneh

New/Emerging Artist of the Year -- The Once - The Once

Producer of the Year -- Steve Dawson - Things About Comin' My Way (Various Artists)

Pushing the Boundaries -- Beyond the Pale - Postcards

Young Performer of the Year -- Alexandre Boivin-Caron - La Tradition

As well, Ian Tyson received the Canadian Museum of Civilization's Resonance Award for his lifetime's contribution to Canadian music.

Congratulations to all the winners – and to all the nominees.

--Mike Regenstreif

1 comment:

  1. Hi Mike thanks for posting the results. Great blog!
    tim posgate